How do plan upgrades and downgrades work?

You can upgrade to a longer subscription, or you can add more people to an individual subscription. Most upgrades can be purchased by going to our purchase page.

Pricing reflects a pro-rated credit for the balance remaining of your previous purchase. The displayed price is in addition to the previous plan. The full duration (e.g. 2 years) of any new subscription begins from the date of upgrade.

If you purchased your subscription through Apple or Google Play, you'll need to cancel your auto-renewal before you can upgrade. This may take a few hours to update in our system, but you should be able to upgrade normally as instructed above. Please view our article How do I turn off my auto-renewal for cancellation instructions.

Downgrades cannot be processed automatically. However, we're happy to refund any charge within 30 days of a purchase, so that you can purchase a different plan. Please email us to help you with a refund. Subscriptions more than 30 days old cannot be downgraded until the current subscription expires. To downgrade after expiration please turn off auto-renewal. After your current subscription ends, you can choose a new subscription on the purchase page. You may do this if you have a Family Plan and would prefer to change to an individual subscription after your Family Plan expires.

Last Updated:
Was this article helpful?